Monday, May 12, 2008

TPC Golf Winners

The Players Championship (often styled THE PLAYERS Championship) is an annual golf tournament on the PGA Tour. Since 1982 it has been played across the road from Sawgrass Country Club, on the Stadium Course at the "Tournament Players Club at Sawgrass" (usually referred to as the TPC at Sawgrass; it is not uncommon for "TPC" in this context to be conflated with "The Players Championship" because they happen to have the same initials). The Players Championship offers the highest prize fund of any tournament in golf ($8 million 2004–06, $9 million in 2007, $9.5 million in 2008), and is sometimes referred to by certain sections of the North American media as the "Fifth Major", but it does not have official major status. Here are the winners from each year:

1986 John Mahaffey
1985 Calvin Peete
1984 Fred Couples
1983 Hal Sutton
1982 Jerry Pate

(to see more winners see the full list here)

No comments: